Break Days-Holiday Information

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Break Days & Holidays (2019/2020)

CyRide does not operate on six holidays throughout the year including:

  • Labor Day - Monday, September 2, 2019
  • Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 28, 2019
  • Christmas Day - Wednesday, December 25, 2019
  • New Years Day - Wednesday, Jan 1, 2020
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Independence Day - Saturday, July 4, 2020

Additionally, CyRide operates a Break schedule on and around holidays and times that ISU does not have classes.  Sometimes CyRide runs a Weekday Break schedule, and sometimes a Saturday or Sunday Break schedule. It is extremely important to note what type of Break schedule or service is operated since that indicates which schedule to reference in looking up the time your bus will arrive at your particular stop.

What does a Break Schedule mean to you? A Break schedule indicates that CyRide buses only operate the times or lines within the schedule timetables that are NOT SHADED. Additionally, some entire routes do not operate when I S U is on break.

Therefore, Break Schedule means shaded trips on the schedule timetable DO NOT OPERATE whether designated a Weekday, Saturday or Sunday Break Schedule.

(Click the links to show the specifics on bus service around each break service.)

Week before Classes  Memorial Day   Independence Day
Labor Day
    Thanksgiving     Semester Break     Martin Luther King, Jr. Day     Spring Break

  • STEP #1 = Note which schedule CyRide is operating (Weekday, Saturday or Sunday) by looking at the schedule below. Just because it is Monday - Friday, does not mean CyRide is operating a weekday break schedule! 
  • STEP #2 = Ignore the shaded trips on the schedule you're referencing for a Break Schedule as those buses do not operate. (Some shaded trips are different for daytime versus evening with different days noted)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Week before Iowa State Service Classes Begins (August 13th - 19th)

Monday, August 19- Weekday Break schedule; (modified #11 Cherry & #25 Gold; see rider alert);
Tuesday, August 20- Weekday Break schedule;(modified #11 Cherry & #25 Gold; see rider alert);
Wednesday, August 21- Weekday Break schedule; (modified #11 Cherry & #25 Gold; see rider alert);
Thursday, August 22- Weekday Break schedule; (modified #11 Cherry & #25 Gold; see rider alert);
Friday, August 23- Weekday Break schedule; (modified #11 Cherry & #25 Gold; see rider alert);
                                    Moonlight Express WILL OPERATE
Saturday, August 24- Saturday Break schedule (except #3 Blue); Moonlight Express will operate; Saturday #3 Blue – SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE on August 24th.
Sunday, August 25- Sunday Break schedule (except #3 Blue; Sunday #3 Blue - SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE on August 25th.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Labor Day

Monday, September 2 (Labor Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving Break

Friday, November 22- Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.) Additionally, #25 Gold operates a modified route between Schilletter Village and ISU campus (see map).

Saturday, November 23 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, November 24 - Sunday Break schedule
Monday, November 25 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, November 26 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, November 27 - Weekday Break schedule

Thursday, November 28 (Thanksgiving Day) - No Service

Friday, November 29 - Saturday Break schedule
Saturday, November 30 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 1 - Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Semester Break

Friday, December 20 - Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.) Additionally, #25 Gold operates a modified route between Schilletter Village and ISU campus (see map).

Saturday, December 21- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 22- Sunday Break schedule
Monday, December 23- Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, December 24 - Saturday Break schedule (Service ends at 6:00 p.m.)

Wednesday, December 25 (Christmas Day) - No Service

Thursday, December 26- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, December 27- Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, December 28- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 29- Sunday Break schedule
Monday, December 30 -Weekday Break schedule

Tuesday, December 31 -Weekday Break schedule (Service ends at 6:00 p.m.)

Wednesday, January 1 (New Years Day) - No Service

Thursday, January 2- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, January 3 - Weekday Break schedule

Saturday, January 4 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, January 5 - Sunday Break schedule

Monday, January 6 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, January 7 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, January 8 - Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, January 9- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, January 10- Weekday Break schedule

Saturday, January 11- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, January 12- Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (shaded lines WILL NOT operate the entire day)

No service on #12 Lilac or #21 Cardinal this day. Additionally, #25 Gold operates a modified route between Schilletter Village and ISU campus (see map).


Monday, January 20- - Weekday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Break

Friday, March 13- Regular Friday service.  No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.) Additionally, #25 Gold operates a modified route between Schilletter Village and ISU campus (see map).

Saturday, March 14- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 15- Sunday Break schedule

Monday, March 16- Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, March 17- Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, March 18- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, March 19- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, March 20- Weekday Break schedule

Saturday, March 21- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 22- Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25 (Memorial Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Independence Day

Saturday, July 4 (Independence Day) - No Service