Break Days-Holiday Information

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Break Days & Holidays (2017/2018)

CyRide does not operate on six holidays throughout the year including:

  • Labor Day - Monday, September 3, 2018
  • Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 22, 2018
  • Christmas Day - Tuesday, December 25, 2018
  • New Years Day - Tuesday, Jan 1, 2019
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 27, 2019
  • Independence Day - Thursday, July 4, 2019

Additionally, CyRide operates a Break schedule on and around holidays and times that ISU does not have classes.  Sometimes CyRide runs a Weekday Break schedule, and sometimes a Saturday or Sunday Break schedule. It is extremely important to note what type of Break schedule or service is operated since that indicates which schedule to reference in looking up the time your bus will arrive at your particular stop.

What does a Break Schedule mean to you? A Break schedule indicates that CyRide buses only operate the times or lines within the schedule timetables that are NOT SHADED.

Therefore, Break Schedule means shaded trips on the schedule timetable DO NOT OPERATE whether designated a Weekday, Saturday or Sunday Break Schedule.

(Click the links to show the specifics on bus service around each break service.)

Week before Classes  Memorial Day   Independence Day
Labor Day
    Thanksgiving     Semester Break     Martin Luther King, Jr. Day     Spring Break

  • STEP #1 = Note which schedule CyRide is operating (Weekday, Saturday or Sunday) by looking at the schedule below. Just because it is Monday - Friday, does not mean CyRide is operating a weekday break schedule! 
  • STEP #2 = Ignore the shaded trips on the schedule you're referencing for a Break Schedule as those buses do not operate. (Some shaded trips are different for daytime versus evening with different days noted)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Week before Iowa State Service Classes Begins (August 13th - 19th)

Monday, August 13 - Weekday Break schedule; (except #23 Orange);
                                       Weekday #23 Orange route (SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE)
Tuesday, August 14 - Weekday Break schedule; (except #23 Orange);
                                       Weekday #23 Orange route (SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE)
Wednesday, August 15 - Weekday Break schedule; (except #23 Orange);
                                       Weekday #23 Orange route (SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE))
Thursday, August 16 - Weekday Break schedule; (except #23 Orange);
                                       Weekday #23 Orange route (SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE)
Friday, August 17 - Weekday Break schedule; (except #23 Orange);
                                    Weekday #23 Orange route (SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE)
                                    Moonlight Express WILL OPERATE

Saturday, August 18 - Saturday Break schedule (except #3 Blue); Moonlight Express will operate; 
                                         Saturday #3 Blue – SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE on August 18th.
Sunday, August 19 - Sunday Break schedule (except #3 Blue); 
                                      Sunday #3 Blue - SHADED LINES WILL OPERATE on August 19th.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Labor Day

Monday, September 3 (Labor Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving Break

Friday, November 17- Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal, #25 Gold, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, November 17 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, November 18 - Sunday Break schedule
Monday, November 19 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, November 20 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, November 21 - Weekday Break schedule

Thursday, November 22 (Thanksgiving Day) - No Service

Friday, November 23 - Saturday Break schedule
Saturday, November 24 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, November 25 - Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Semester Break

Friday, December 14- Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal, #25 Gold, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, December 15 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 16 - Sunday Break schedule
Monday, December 17 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, December 18 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, December 19 - Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, December 20 - Weekday Break schedule
Friday, December 21 - Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, December 22 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 23 - Sunday Break schedule
Monday, December 24 - Saturday Break schedule (Service ends at 6:00 p.m.)

Tuesday, December 25 (Christmas Day) - No Service

Wednesday, December 26- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, December 27- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, December 28- Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, December 29- Saturday Break schedule

Sunday, December 30- Sunday Break schedule

Monday, December 31 -Weekday Break schedule (Service ends at 6:00 p.m.)

Tuesday, January 1 (New Years Day) - No Service

Wednesday, January 2- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, January 3 - Weekday Break schedule
Friday, January 4 - Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, January 5 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, January 6 - Sunday Break schedule

Monday, January 7 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, January 8 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, January 9 - Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, January 10 - Weekday Break schedule
Friday, January 11 - Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, January 12 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, January 13 - Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (shaded lines WILL NOT operate the entire day)

No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal or #25 Gold routes this day. 
Monday, January 21 - - Weekday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Break

Friday, March 15 - Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #11 Cherry, #12 Lilac, #21 Cardinal or #25 Gold or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, March 16 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 17 - Sunday Break schedule
Monday, March 18 - Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, March 19 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, March 20 - Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, March 21 - Weekday Break schedule
Friday, March 22 - Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, March 23 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 24 - Sunday Break schedule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memorial Day

Monday, May 27 (Memorial Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4 (Independence Day) - No Service