Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government
Mon, Jan 16, 4:42 AM CST

Break Days & Holidays (2016/2017)

CyRide does not operate on six holidays throughout the year including:
Labor Day - September 5, 2016, Thanksgiving - November 24, 2016, Christmas Day - December 25, 2016, and New Years Day - Jan 1, 2017, Memorial Day - May 29, 2017, Independence Day - July 4, 2017.

Additionally, CyRide operates a Break schedule on and around holidays and times that ISU does not have classes.  Sometimes CyRide runs a Weekday Break schedule, and sometimes a Saturday or Sunday Break schedule. It is extremely important to note what type of Break schedule or service is operated since that indicates which schedule to reference in looking up the time your bus will arrive at your particular stop.

What does a Break Schedule mean to you? A Break schedule indicates that CyRide buses only operate the times or lines within the schedule timetables that are NOT SHADED.

Therefore, Break Schedule means shaded trips on the schedule timetable DO NOT OPERATE whether designated a Weekday, Saturday or Sunday Break Schedule.

(Click the links to show the specifics on bus service around each break service.)

Memorial Day   Independence Day
Labor Day   Thanksgiving    Semester Break    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day   Spring Break

  • STEP #1 = Note which schedule CyRide is operating (Weekday, Saturday or Sunday) by looking at the schedule below. Just because it is Monday - Friday, does not mean CyRide is operating a weekday break schedule! 
  • STEP #2 = Ignore the shaded trips on the schedule you're referencing for a Break Schedule as those buses do not operate. (Some shaded trips are different for daytime versus evening with different days noted)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Labor Day

Sunday, September 4- Regular Sunday Service. (No Service on #24 Silver Route)

Monday, September 5 (Labor Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving Break

Friday, November 18 - Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #1A Red, #6A Towers/Campus, #9 Plum, #21 Cardinal, #22 Gold, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, November 19- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, November 20- Sunday Break schedule (No Service on #24 Silver Route)
Monday, November 21- Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, November 22- Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, November 23- Weekday Break schedule

Thursday, November 24 (Thanksgiving Day) - No Service

Friday, November 25- Saturday Break schedule
Saturday, November 26- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, November 27- Sunday Break schedule (#24 Silver Route IS operating.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Semester Break

Friday, December 16- Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #1A Red, #6A Towers/Campus, #9 Plum, #21 Cardinal, #22 Gold, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, December 17- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, December 18- Sunday Break schedule (No Service on #24 Silver Route)
Monday, December 19- Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, December 20- Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, December 21- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, December 22- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, December 23- Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, December 24 - Saturday Break schedule  (Service ends at 6:00pm; #5 Yellow Route's last trip will be at 5:37pm on 12/31/16.  However, CyRide will honor transfers to #5 Yellow at City Hall from #1 Red and #2 Green routes at approximately 6:17pm to take passengers to their final destination. Be aware that this 6:17pm trip will only operate if there are passengers at City Hall.)

Sunday, December 25 (Christmas Day) - No Service

Monday, December 26- Saturday Break schedule
Tuesday, December 27- Saturday Break schedule
Wednesday, December 28- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, December 29- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, December 30- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, December 31- Saturday Break schedule (Service ends at 6:00pm; #5 Yellow Route's last trip will be at 5:37pm on 12/31/16.  However, CyRide will honor transfers to #5 Yellow at City Hall from #1 Red and #2 Green routes at approximately 6:17pm to take passengers to their final destination. Be aware that this 6:17pm trip will only operate if there are passengers at City Hall.)

Sunday, January 1 (New Years Day) - No Service

Monday, January 2 - Saturday Break schedule (CORRECTION from misprint on printed schedule)
Tuesday, January 3 - Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, January 4 - Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, January 5 - Weekday Break schedule
Friday, January 6 - Weekday Break schedule.
Saturday, January 7 - Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, January 8 - Sunday Break schedule (#24 Silver Route IS operating.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Sunday, January 15 (No Service on #24 Silver Route.)

Monday, January 16 - Weekday Break schedule for #1 Red, #2 Green, #3 Blue, #4 Gray, #5 Yellow, #6 Brown, #7 Purple, and #23 Orange.  Specifically, the #23 Orange route will operate the published 20-minute service and no shaded lines will operate.  However, after 5:30pm; shaded lines WILL run on #1 Red (no #1A Red Service), #2 Green & #3 Blue Routes. (View Special Timetables for routes #1Red, #2 Green and #3 Blue operating shaded trips after 5:30pm).  #24 Silver Route IS operating.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Break

Friday, March 10- Regular Friday service (No service on Moonlight Express)
(No service on #1A Red, #6A Towers/Campus, #9 Plum, #21 Cardinal, #22 Gold, or Moonlight Express the rest of the break.)

Saturday, March 11- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 12- Sunday Break schedule (No Service on #24 Silver Route.)
Monday, March 13- Weekday Break schedule
Tuesday, March 14- Weekday Break schedule
Wednesday, March 15- Weekday Break schedule
Thursday, March 16- Weekday Break schedule
Friday, March 17- Weekday Break schedule
Saturday, March 18- Saturday Break schedule
Sunday, March 19- Sunday Break schedule (#24 Silver Route IS operating.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29 (Memorial Day) - No Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Independence Day

Monday, July 4 (Independence Day) - No Service

Last updated: 11/14/2016 3:07:37 PM